Gneiss Press

Books that make the mountains tremble!

Welcome!

         So glad you have found us!

Now Available!

Mordred Scupper's Last Day

by J. Conrad Beech

Mordred Scupper wants to retire, but every time he tries to close the doors of Mordred Scupper Investigations one more client walks in with one last case – a case he can’t resist!

 

Mordred Scupper is a dinosaur. He doesn’t own a computer, a cell phone or a digital camera. After more than thirty years as a private investigator, he knows his day is done. It’s time to turn out the lights, lock the door and go home for good. But that proves surprisingly hard to do.

 

Click here to find out more!

Now Available!

Alra by Jack Moody

In a future city divided into Violence Control Zones, Detective Jago Stel has a murder to solve – a murder committed by a mysterious woman who can ghost past sensors without leaving a trace, a woman with no past and no identity beyond her name: Alra.

Who is she?

 

Click here to find out more!

Now Available!

Matilda and the Fairies

by Rollo Marsh

Matilda secretly lives in a cupboard in the kitchen of Darkfell Manor. One night, she finds a fairy in the flour bin! They become fast friends and, after overcoming many difficulties, Matilda’s lonely life is transformed into a world of wonder, eventually leading to a journey to the Land of Faerie. Set in 1895 Westmorland, this enchanting tale of a young girl finding her independence will touch the hearts of young and old alike.

Ages 8-12

 

Click here to find out more!

Now Available!

Black Dove by Charles Bonham

An explosive tale of adventure and intrigue, rich in history and mysteries from the past.

 

 

“…by the time we reached the dock, the Cathars and their chest were gone.”

  

  

Michelle Charbonnier finds this cryptic reference to the arrival of Cathars in Quebec in an old diary from 1693. Could the Cathars have survived the 13th century crusade against them in southern France and come to Canada? And what was in the mysterious chest mentioned in the diary?

Michelle sets out on a hunt for the fabled Cathar treasure. Chased by a group of renegade heretic-hunters, she finds herself on the trail of a secret many have died to protect – and she may be next.

 

Click here to find out more!

Now Available!

Zelda and the Flames of Destiny
by Wallace P. Blatt

 

Follow the hilarious adventures of Dizz-J and Moose, two escaped convicts who drive a stolen Urban Search and Rescue Vehicle, nicknamed Zelda, across America accompanied by Leyla, a sultry wanna-be actress, and Flora, an escapee from a psychiatric ward.

  

This modern version of the picaresque form will delight fans of Charles Dickens'‘Pickwick Papers,’ Tobias Smollett’s ‘Humphrey Clinker’ and Henry Fielding’s‘Tom Jones’!

 

 Click here to find out more!

Now Available!

The Stream Keepers  by   Rollo Marsh

Meet The Stream Keepers, a fun and friendly family of Water Sprites. Join them on their adventures along the banks of Rippling Stream.

Filled with the beauty and wisdom of the natural world, these charming stories are sure to win the hearts of children and adults alike.

In the tradition of The Wind in the Willows, Little Grey Men and Old Mother West Wind, the tales of The Stream Keepers take us into the magical world of Nature.

The fourteen stories in this book are non-violent and promote positive attitudes towards the environment and building self-esteem.

Ages 8-12.

Now Available!

The Eldamunde Cunningham Mysteries  
by   J. Conrad Beech



The Eldamunde Cunningham Mysteries plunge Eldamunde and her friend, Hazel Bright, into the dark side of the Victorian imagination as they seek the truth in a world of gaslight, of frantic cab rides through fogbound London streets, of secret passages and cryptic messages, of murderers and monsters.



 Now Available!

Poetry: Tools & Techniques   by   John C. Goodman



Poetry: Tools & Techniques
is a book about poetic language, about how to write beyond the limits of language, to make the language say what it was not designed to say.




Comments

If you would like to make a comment or request more information, send a message to:

 

[email protected]

 

Gneiss Press

Gneiss Press (pronounced "nice") is a Canadian publisher dedicated to books that enlighten, entertain and educate.

Our name "Gneiss" is taken from a type of layered and folded rock - a product of the inescapable, uncontrolable forces that shape our world and our lives.

Join us on Tumblr

and on Blogger